Team India Secures Victory Against Pakistan During Dispute, Bewilderment - and Flying Pest Problem

Pakistan Expresses Displeasure When Match Official Controversially Alters Dismissal Decision

World Cup Tournament, Sri Lankan Capital

Indian Total 247 (50 overs): Harleen Deol 46 (65 balls); Baig 4-69

Team Pakistan 159 runs (43 overs): Amin's 81 runs (106 deliveries); Goud's 3 wickets for 20

Team India secured victory by eighty-eight runs

Team India preserved their flawless opening in the World Cup tournament through a convincing 88-run victory over rivals Pakistan at Colombo.

Deol registered the highest score with 46 as Richa Ghosh hammered a not-out 35 from 20 balls in the closing stages to propel the Indian score to 247 throughout their knock which witnessed numerous batters make starts without converting.

Seamer Diana Baig took 4/69 as the Pakistani attack bowled out Team India premierly in women's one-day international off the final delivery of the innings but a first win remained beyond their reach.

Following a slide to 26-3 in the chase, Pakistan momentarily fought back as Sidra Amin - who proceeded to score 81 off 105 deliveries following being given reprieves three times - and Natalia Pervaiz compiled 69 for the fourth wicket.

However India, guided by Goud's three for twenty, stuck to their task to bowl out the Pakistani team for 159 during the 43rd over and move top in the group standings.

As typically happens when India and Pakistan meet, however, there existed much more to the contest, featuring dispute and uncertainty peppered throughout the encounter...

Running Out Controversy

Possibly the major talking point emerged from a situation during the early stages of Pakistan's knock when opener Muneeba was controversially dismissed via run out.

The southpaw received impact on the pad off Goud's delivery and as the Indian bowler appealed unsuccessfully for LBW, Deepti gathered the stray ball and launched at the bails.

She connected but replays showed Muneeba had placed her bat ahead of the ball was even in the picture and a 'not out' decision from the third umpire Klaaste was displayed on the large screen in the ground.

Nevertheless, ahead of the match continuing, the ruling was reviewed again and it transpired that when the ball struck the wickets and dislodged the bails, Muneeba had lifted her bat and was still stood outside her crease.

While the batter had earlier embedded the bat and didn't endeavor to sneak a single, the match referee altered her ruling to 'dismissed' and regardless of Pakistan's complaints, that witnessed leader Fatima Sana instruct her player to stay at the pitch temporarily, Muneeba had to go.

Adding another layer, should India have referred the lbw decision, the whole controversy would have been avoided because ball-tracking showed Muneeba was clearly out LBW.

What do the regulations of cricket state?

30.1 Regarding being out of ground

Rule 30.1.1 A player shall be deemed to be out of his/her ground unless some part of their body or bat is grounded behind the batting crease at that side.

Rule 30.1.2 Nevertheless, a hitter shall not be regarded as having left their crease when, during running or diving to their crease and further, and after placing a portion of his/her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the field and any element of their body or bat, or between equipment and player.

'Tails... heads is the call'

Uncertainty when Pakistani side mistakenly granted toss against India

It should have been clear that things would not be simple in this match from the very toss.

Amid a context of political tensions involving both countries, that leaders Sana and Kaur avoided handshakes was expected - particularly considering the previous instances in previous encounters among the men's teams.

Nevertheless, nobody could have foreseen that Sana would announce mistakenly but gain the flip.

The Pakistani captain shouted "tails" as Harmanpreet flicked the coin but match referee the referee misheard and declared "heads called".

Commentator and ex-Australian player Mel Jones was overseeing the flip and echoed Fritz's words, the coin landed on heads and the announcement came that Pakistan secured the flip.

Neither leader disputed it thus Sana could come forward and affirm that Pakistan would field first.

A harmless blunder and since India triumphed anyway, no harm done.

Bugs stop play

'Who you gonna call?' - 'Bugbuster' arrives when insects halt game

In between {the toss confusion|the coin flip confusion|the toss

Carly Petty
Carly Petty

A passionate writer and thinker sharing personal insights and experiences to inspire others.